Friday, September 23, 2011

Constitution of the Core Group of NGOs in the National Human Rights Commission(NHRC)

Our organization Peoples' Vigilance Committee on Human Rights (PVCHR) selected under section 12 (i) of The Protection of Human Rights Act, 1993 the National Human Rights Commission (NHRC) is mandated to encourage the efforts of Non- Governmental Organization (NGOs) and institutions working in the field of human rights. The commission has been fulfilling this objective its "issue based" interaction /partnership with various reputed NGOs who have built up a credible reputation of dedicated work in the area of Human Rights. A core Group of NGOs to serve as a Monitoring Mechanism for consultation has been constituted in the year 2001 and re- constituted from time to time which made several useful and constructive suggestions in its meetings for the consideration of the commission.
Thus keeping in mind especially the renewed focus of the commission for the realization of Civil, Economic, Social and Cultural Right as well as to extend the reach of the Commission to the different regions of the country to provide sectoral and regional representation, the commission has reconstituted the Core Group of NGOs are as follows:
     i.        Shri  Javed Adibi
     Executive Director
     National Centre for Promotion of Employment for Disabled People
   ii.         Shri Suhas Chakma
     Asian Centre for Human Rights
  iii.        Shri  Kailash Satyarthi
              Bachpan Bachao Andolan (BBA)
  iv.        Shri  Rita Sarin
               Country Director
              The Hunger Project – India
    v.        Shri  Rakesh Jinsi
     Secretary General
     SOS Children's Village of India
  vi.        Shri  Mathew Philip
    Executive Director
  South India Cell for Human Rights Education and Monitoring (SICHREM)
vii.        Smt. Sugatha Kumari
    Secretary – ABHAYA
viii.        Puja Marwaha
      Chief Executive
    CRY – Child Right and You
  ix.        Dr. Lenin Raghuvanshi
      Peoples' Vigilance Committee on Human Rights
    x.        Shri Paul Divakar
       Secretary General
      National Campaign for Dailt Human Rights

  xi.        Dr. Ruth Manorma
     National Alliance of Women (NAWO)
xii.        Shri Baghambar Patnaik
      Human Rights Activist and Adviser

4. The terms of reference of the core group shall be the following:

                     i.        To identify the broad area of cooperation between NHRC and NGOs and suggest its mechanism.
                   ii.        To identify important human rights issue which could be jointly taken up with the NGOs after considering the suggestions/proposals received from them.
                  iii.        To advise the commission on International Human Rights Convention.
                  iv.        To discuss and suggest mechanism for continuous and meaningful interaction of the commission with the civil society.
                    v.        To consult and interact on a regular basis on the issue concerning human rights and build up a data base of NGOs.
                  vi.        To consider any other issues relevant to the consultation with the NGOs.
5.  The Core Group may meet at intervals deemed necessary by the group.
6. The member of the Core Group shall be entitled to TA/DA for the journey undertaken by them in connection with the Core Group meetings as per norms approved by the commission.
7. The Core Group shall submit their report from time to time to the commission with its recommendations.

NGOs core group of NHRC

No comments: