Monday, October 24, 2011

Appointed NHRC core group member

Ruth Manorama, president of National Alliance of Women (NAWO), and Mathews Philip, executive director of South India Cell for Human Rights Education & Monitoring (SICHREM), have been appointed members of the newly constituted Core Group of NGOs of the National Human Rights Commission, New Delhi. This follows an order of 16 September, 2011, under Section 12(i) of the Protection of Human Rights Act, 1993, which is mandated to encourage the efforts of NGOs and institutions working in the field of human rights.

The NGO Core Group members are mandated to identify the broad areas of cooperation between the NHRC and NGOs which could be jointly taken up with the NGOs, advising the commission on International Human Rights Conventions, etc.

The other members of the 12-member committee are Javed Abidi, Suhas Chakma, Kailash Satyarthi, Rita Sarin, Rakesh Jinsi, Sugatha Kumari, Puja Marwaha, Lenin Raghuvanshi, Paul Divakar and Baghambar Patnaik.

No comments: